One of you dp experts please explain to me the usage of Justin Fields!

2,943 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Darindawg
Darindawg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I don't get it...I have a doctorate degree, but it's in Theology. I guess I need one in Footballology to understand this but me and my crowd don't get the play calling involving JF on this team.

They bring him in for one play...ONE play, he hands off to Swift, then he goes out of the game, in comes Fromm. Then, we'll get in a situation where we need just one yard for a first down, they'll bring him in for that one play...which in that case, my mother-in-law knows it's going to be a QB run.
Then they get down inside the 10, they bring him in for a couple of runs, then if we don't score, they bring back in Fromm.
Am I the only one that just thinks this is a serious miss-usage of the kid?
I mean, bring him in for an honest-to-God possession, let him get 4 plays at least, let him pass the blinkin ball...he uh, CAN pass you know Chaney?

Stop bringing him in for one play, and then back to the sidelines he goes. What does that accomplish but to get Fromm out of Rhythm and it's sure not doing anything to build his experience and confidence.
So...I regress, maybe I'm missing something here...would anyone with a PhD in footballology care to enlighten me, or is everyone as confused as I am?
cincydawg
I think Smart is trying to figure this out as well, and you have to run experiments to see what can work, and then the other team adjusts to that. Showing Fields means the opponents have to prepare for his insertion. I was glad to see him attempting some passes, he should be more than a pure run threat.

BIGKNINE1
Justin is ....gone after the season. He will play elsewhere next year. Therefore, it is of no use to discuss how he is being "used", because the coachjes know it already.
BIGKNINE1