Story Poster
Georgia Football

BREAKING: Kirby Smart, Georgia Bulldogs Announce Date for G Day

January 30, 2023

Real Georgia Fans Don’t Miss the Dawg Post Newsletter - Sign up now!

ATHENS - Kirby Smart and the Georgia Bulldogs have determined when UGA’s annual G Day will be. 

The Bulldogs will tee off at Sanford Stadium on April 15, according to an annoucement from UGA’s Alumni Association website. The Bulldogs are attempting to win a third national title in a row. Somthing the Alumni Association calls a “chase for history.”

The Athens Banner-Herald’s Marc Weiszer reported the news Monday night.

The UGA Alumni Associatoin said of the event: “Georgia could become the first school in modern college football history to win three consecutive national championships, and the Dawgs’ road to glory begins on G-Day, April 15, in Sanford Stadium.”

G Day is the weekend following the Masters in Augusta. 

Kirby has used spring games to draw attention to his program. G Day in 2016 is viewed as a critical first step in the program’s ascent over the last few years.  Recruiting will be a major focus for the Bulldogs that weekend. Georgia already has the consensus No. 1 class in 2024

                        The Georgia Bulldogs go Back to Back!

                  Reserve Your Copy of DOUBLE DAWGS NOW!

Historic Success: With its 65-7 win over No. 3 TCU, Georgia (15-0) captured its fourth national championship and became the first team to win back-to-back titles in the CFP era. The only other teams to win two straight titles since 1990 have been Nebraska (1994-95), USC (2003-04) and Alabama (2011-12). 

*Georgia secured its 868th all-time win, good for ninth place for Most Wins in FBS history. Georgia began this season 11th, moving past USC and Tenn.

*The 2022 senior class concludes its career with a school record 49-5 mark and two national championships.

*The Bulldogs are one of only three FBS teams in the modern era to finish a season a school record 15-0, joining Clemson (2018) and LSU (2019).

*The Bulldogs have tied the school record for consecutive wins with 17 straight going back to last season’s CFP semifinal/Capital One Orange Bowl win over No. 2 Michigan.  From 1945-47, Georgia had a stretch where it won 17 games in a row.

*The Bulldogs are now 5-1 in the CFP under Kirby Smart including 2-1 in CFP National Championship Games. 

UGA 2022 Undefeated National Champions Wool Felt Banner

Check out This out NOW!


subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.