Story Poster

Georgia Bulldog early enrollee Mykel Williams National High School Player of the Year

January 21, 2022

DON’T MISS OUT: Get our insider newsletter today!

ATHENS - A Georgia Bulldog early enrollee, Mykel Williams, was named the Defensive National High School Player of the Year by the Maxwell Award. 

The Maxwell Football Club and presenting partner adidas today announced that Nicholas Singleton, from Governor Mifflin High School (Shillington, PA) and Mykel Williams‍ from Hardaway High School (Columbus, GA) have been selected as the 2021 Maxwell Football Club Offensive and Defensive National High School Players of the Year respectively. This is the 15th year that this award will be presented and the 5th in which offensive and defensive players are both recognized.

Williams, a five-star on the 247 Sports Composite, dominated during the 2022 season notching 81 tackles, 20.5 tackles for loss and 12.5 sacks. The Columbus (Ga.) Hardaway standout and Georgia signee showed why he is among the top defensive prospects in the country for the senior class as he imposed his will at the All American Bowl practices regularly dominating many of the best offensive lineman in the country. He followed through in the game posting 3 tackles for loss and was a constant disruptive presence in the West’s offensive backfield.


Now you can own this commemorative keep-sake hardcover book to remember the season. DAWGSTRUCTION will ship in late February/early March. 

Singleton, the nation's top-ranked running back was also named Gatorade's National Player of the Year after rushing for 2,043 yards and 41 touchdowns for Gov. Mifflin High, which went 10-1. He averaged 13.2 yards per touch, including 12.4 yards per rushing attempt, and scored every 3.89 times he touched the ball. Singleton was selected to play in the All American Bowl on NBC earlier this month and he will attend Penn State University.
“Leadership, innovation and an indisputable drive to be the best are attributes that Nicholas, Mykel and adidas share,” said Kris Boltin, Director of Football Sports Marketing for adidas. “We got to see the leadership and camaraderie that Nicholas and Mykel shared with their teammates both on and off the field during the 2022 All American Bowl game and we are excited to these outstanding young men as the Maxwell High School Players of the Year presented by adidas.”
The Maxwell Football Club National HS Player of the Year award was established in 2007 and former winners include Ty Thompson (Offense – Mesquite HS – Oregon), Barrett Carter (North Gwinnett HS – Clemson), Bryce Young (Offense – Mater Dei HS – Alabama), Bryan Bresee (Defense – Damascus HS – Clemson), Bru McCoy (Offense – Mater Dei HS – USC), Nolan Smith (Defense – IMG Academy – Georgia), Trevor Lawrence (Offense – Cartersville HS – Clemson), Taron Vincent (Defense -IMG Academy – Ohio State), Tate Martell (Bishop Gorman HS – Ohio State), Jacob Eason (2015 Lake Stevens HS – Georgia), Trenton Thompson (2014 Westover HS – Georgia), Will Grier (2013 Davidson Day School – Florida), Derrick Henry (2012 Yulee HS – Alabama), Noah Spence (2011 Bishop McDevitt HS – Ohio State), Jeff Driskel (2010 Hagerty HS – Florida), Sharif Floyd (2009 George Washington HS - Florida), Jamarkus McFarland (2008 Lufkin HS - Oklahoma) and DeVier Posey (2007 Cincinnati LaSalle HS – Ohio State). Henry and Young went on to win the Maxwell Award while at Alabama.
Singleton and Williams will be honored Friday, March 18, 2022 at the 85th Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala which will be held at the Harrah’s Resort in Atlantic City, NJ. Also receiving awards at this event will be Bryce Young - Alabama (Maxwell Award), Jordan Davis - Georgia (Chuck Bednarik Award), Pat Narduzzi – University of Pittsburgh (Andy Talley Regional Coach of the Year Award), Kenny Pickett (University of Pittsburgh – FBS) and Forrest Rhyne (Villanova – FCS) (The Brian Westbrook Regional Player of the Year Award), Brock Bowers –Georgia (Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award), and Dave Aranda – Baylor (The George Munger College Coach of the Year Award) . The Club will be announcing additional winners of professional awards and special awards next week.

subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.