Story Poster
Georgia Football

Georgia Bulldogs TE Brock Bowers Named Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year

January 10, 2022

DON’T MISS OUT: Get our insider newsletter today!

The Maxwell Football Club announced that University of Georgia tight end Brock Bowers has been selected as the recipient of the 4th annual Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award presented to the outstanding freshman player in college football. For the first time, this year, the award will be presented at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala along with many of the other top awards in college and professional football.

Bowers, a native of Napa, Calif., becomes the first Bulldog to garner the honor as well as the first tight end to win the award. He is the second player from the Southeastern Conference to earn the accolade after Alabama’s Will Anderson was the 2020-21 winner. Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence and Memphis’ Kenneth Gainwell were the first two winners of the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award in 2018 and 2019, respectively.

Bowers was a USA Today, ESPN and The Athletic First Team All-American and was the SEC Freshman of the Year in his first year with the Bulldogs. He has a team-best 52 catches for 846 yards and 13 touchdowns (12 receiving, one rushing). Bowers owns school records in receptions, yards and receiving touchdowns for a tight end. In fact, the Mackey Award semifinalist owns the overall UGA record for touchdown catches with his dozen through 14 games.

The Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award has been presented to the College Freshman Player of the Year since 2018 and is named in honor of Shaun Alexander, a former standout at the University of Alabama and with the Seattle Seahawks in the NFL.

“Brock Bowers talent is undeniable and when you watch him he just jumps off the field. When I had the opportunity to learn about Brock as a teammate and a person it was obvious that he was the type of player I would want to carry on the tradition of the Shaun Alexander Freshman Player of the Year Award”
Shaun Alexander
The formal presentations of the Shaun Alexander, Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey on March 18. Bulldog senior Jordan Davis won this year’s Bednarik Award and will be receiving his trophy alongside Bowers.


subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.